I do all development with the - at the time - newest java version. I was told, that you need at least Java 1.8.
An exception:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: de/malban/VideMain: Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
...
will occur if your java version is to old.
Apparently this has to do with the correct/incorrect java version. I myself do not have a windows 10 system available. But "Manu" discovered, that under under windows 10 [Quote]:
"The solution is here: https://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp - you need to download (also) the 64-bit version of Java, and it's not the >normal< download that they offer on the front page."
Open the cartridge panel (menu: File->Extra->EditCartridgeInfo)
press new
enter at least a "name", a "cart name" and either a "bin" file or a Binary Link, all other fields are more or less optional.
Well... yes probably.
Most bugs that I know of are history. New bugs should be reported to Malban. There are some things you can do to discover bugs and get information:
run from command prompt may show output to the command line
in the menu: File->Extra->Application Configuration
you can set the debug level (3, pretty high) is as of now default.
in the menu: Window->Debug Window you can show a "Debug-Log" window, here some additional information may be displayed.
Nothing, the file was deleted.
Because I programmed it that way, you should know what you do!
Because the program is called vide and not gami!
Update: Starting a game starts dissi iconified now!
Nope, this is only 10 lines of code, but the program is called vide, not gami!
Because Vide is an developement environment, not a game center!
Also... Vide is (was :-( ) pure java.
Actually I started a openGL version using LWJGL, but using that library send shivers down my spine. I aborted it after 1 day. I might at some stage start another try with JOGL, but don't wait for it.
Most homebrewlers are pretty strict with their creations. No homebrew program is bundled with vide (apart from the sources in the codi area). If vide is able to download the programs, than I have added them. If they are behind some internet walls, they are not included.
See last answer.
Yup, the source comes along with it.
VIDE consists of different parts, which are programs collected from different sources. The old copyrights still apply. I only used sources which are freely available, but that does NOT mean they are public domain. With all sources I included copyright notices and license files (if available) - look at the respective places in the code. Code done by me (Malban) is open source and licenced with GPL V2.0.
I use Netbeans version 8.x. All development was done with Netbeans, so that is what I recommend as IDE.
Add the libraries in the "lib" (jars) folder, and you should be able to build. I use quite a lot of sourcecode from my other projects, for that reason there are probably many sources in the archive not really NEEDED for VIDE, nonetheless they are there.
The "Main" program can be found under: de.malban.VideMain, this mainly just instantiates a "CSAMainFrame", which is the main desktop application, from here all events are triggered.
All things directly "vide"-related can be found under: de.malban.vide.*
You can configure many input devices. For accessing them I use the JInput library, which needs native support. For Windows, Mac and Linux the native libraries are included in the lib directory. If you use another OS, you are not able to configure other input devices. To configure, go to "Configuration" and than tab "Input".